Home
Join

12 Replies

• I work in a school district and we've been using the HP M400 series with very little issues.

Spice (1) flagReport
    1 found this helpful thumb_up thumb_down
  • If the cost isn't your responsibility, just go with HP. (No one ever got fired for buying IBM, right?)

If you want to cut toner costs long term then look at Epson Ecotank.

Spice (1) flagReport
    1 found this helpful thumb_up thumb_down
  • I'll definitely be looking into the ecotank, thanks for the tip!

Was this post helpful? thumb_up thumb_down
  • Find an HP dealer that can offer you the managed products as you will save money on toners plus the managed 400 series use the same firmware as larger enterprise models. 

The only gotchas we have seen with the 400 and 500 series is that if you do not remove the cartridge properly (lift then pull) it is possible to dislodged the static fingers by the transfer roller.

https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/ish_2821278-2825359-16

Spice (2) flagReport
  • enyr0py wrote:

If the cost isn't your responsibility, just go with HP. (No one ever got fired for buying IBM, right?)

If you want to cut toner costs long term then look at Epson Ecotank.

Funny how everyone quakes in their boots when you recommend liquid ink but talk cost savings and then everyone is "hey, OK"

Spice (2) flagReport
  • I assume there are pros and cons with the ecotank/liquid ink ? 

• You say something that will sit on the desks.

How much space is there for this?

Spice (1) flagReport
  • there's a decent amount of space for most people to have something the size of like an HP P2035 or slightly larger. 

• First if you do not need color do not buy it.  Color systems (toner or ink) degrade if not used. Clogged print heads can be an issue if they are not used and dry out. 

Secondly HP cartridge based printers have 10x the toner cost of other manufacturers where only the toner is replaced instead of an expensive cartridge.